top of page

Comparison: The Thief of Joy


Hey y'all! Life has been so hectic lately! I'm sorry to have missed last Friday's post. With getting our apartment set up and all the last minute wedding plans, time is just getting away from me. But today I'm back! I'm going to chat about comparison and comparing yourself to others. This is something I struggle so much with and I just wanted to encourage any of you who struggle with it as well.

I think one of the most well known quotes about comparison is by Theodore Roosevelt, "Comparison is the thief of joy". This quote couldn't be truer. To be honest, I think everybody, no matter how confident they come across or say they are, struggles with comparing themselves to others. Whether it's their body, lifestyle, or house, I think everyone compares something in their life to someone else's. Comparison can be dangerous. With comparison comes envy and jealousy. When you compare your life or body to someone else's, bitterness can definitely take hold and nobody wants that. When I think about jealousy and comparison James 3:16 comes to mind, "For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there will be disorder and every vile practice." That verse is so powerful and so true. When we compare and become jealous of someone else, nothing good comes of it.

I think social media plays a giant role in comparison. We all know those people who have the "perfect" Facebook or Instagram life. Every picture is pristine, everyone is always polished, no struggles are ever talked about. The perfect home, the perfect life, the perfect job. A lot of times I'll look at someone who has an incredible career and I'm like wow, they have it all together, I want to be like them. We can't let what we see on Facebook or Instagram control who we are. We see all these things on social media and it takes the fun out of life because we're constantly trying to measure up to these facades people put on. What most people don't show is the addictions, struggles, and problems in their lives. We have no idea what someone else might be going through in their personal life. All we see is the polished exterior on social media.

I got some really good advice from my bridal shower and that little piece was not to compare my marriage to social media marriages. Obviously, nobody is going to post about the fight they just had with their spouse. They're going to post the amazing vacation they just went on or the baby they just had or the house they just bought. Social media doesn't capture everything about a marriage and we need to remind ourselves that marriage isn't perfect. It's just not. I know that and I'm not even married yet!

I tend to compare my body a lot. I see all these photos of really thin and fit people on social media and I just compare, compare, compare. I always think, I work out and eat well, why don't I look like that? I also compare my personality to others' as well. I wish I were more outgoing or more gentle like this person or that person. You know what? I am perfect the way God made me. People are made in all shapes, sizes, colors, personalities and body types. No one body type or lifestyle or career is the "perfect" one. I saw a quote once that said, "A flower does not think of competing with the flower next to it, it just blooms" and I think that is such a good reminder not to compare myself. You do you boo. It doesn't matter what anyone else is doing. We can't let comparison run our lives. You are perfectly you and nobody can change that.

See y'all next week!

XO,

Gabby

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

-- Dr. Seuss


bottom of page