top of page

The Importance of Sulfate and Paraben Free Hair Care


Hey y'all! Today I'm going to be talking about something that I think is so important especially if you're trying to grow your hair out. Making sure your hair care routine is free of sulfates and parabens is the key to growing strong, healthy hair. Shampoos and conditioners are the most common products that have sulfates and parabens in them and most of the time we don't even notice. Not only do sulfates dry out your hair making it brittle, they can also fade your hair color, irritate your scalp and even cause hair loss. Parabens can cause your hair to be frizzy and I don't know anyone who likes frizzy hair.

If that doesn't convince you, just think about pouring a ton of strong chemicals on your hair. That's how I always view it and it freaks me out! Not to worry, there are so many good paraben and sulfate free products out there that are so affordable! I really love the shampoos and conditioners from Garnier Fructis called Triple Action Curl Nourish! I have naturally curly hair and this shampoo and conditioner combo is a dream for my hair. It's paraben and sulfate free AND it's a vegan formula. So all you vegans out there, I got you :) Not only is this combo awesome for your hair, it smells super yummy and it's extremely affordable. I think I purchased mine at Walmart for $3.42 each. Come on now. That's a deal if I ever saw one!


Another paraben free formula is Garnier's new line of Whole Blends haircare. They've got leave-in conditioners, shampoos, in shower conditioners, oils, etc. Plus they all smell amazing! They have a formula for almost any hair issue and it's all sustainable as well as paraben free, plus a 12.5 oz. bottle is only $3.47 at Walmart!


The last shampoo and conditioner combo I have to mention is the L'Oreal Paris EverPure line. This line is sulfate free, paraben free, and is 100% vegan! The price tag on this bunch of shampoos and conditioners is a little steeper than the Garnier products but still very affordable. Like the Whole Blends line, this line includes a range of shampoos and conditioners for all kinds of hair issues! My favorite is the frizz defy formula. The only thing I do have to say about this shampoo and conditioner set is that I had to wash my hair twice for it to feel clean. I don't know if I just didn't use enough product because I do have thick hair, but I didn't really like that aspect. Overall, this line is great!


These are the only true sulfate and paraben free haircare products I have actually tried. I would have recommended OGX shampoos and conditioners but they do have at least 1 sulfate in them :( Are there any affordable paraben and sulfate free haircare products you would recommend? Comment and let me know! I'd love to try them!

XO


bottom of page